Appetizers, Dinner Recipes, Inspired by Mom, Recipes

Family Recipes: Inspired by Mom – Twice Baked Potatoes

twice baked potatoes

With colder nights approaching, we are grilling outside less and less, so I am using my kitchen oven to prepare our dinner meals more often. Over the next two blog posts, I will share two potato sides that I bake in my oven. Everyone in my family enjoys them…and asks for seconds! They are Twice Baked Potatoes and Roasted Potatoes. Two recipes that are great for larger gatherings or even just for your family dinners each night.

Twice Baked Potatoes (Thanks to my Mom who would always make these for me as a kid!)

Ingredients: red bliss, yellow or russet baking potatoes, butter, salt, shredded mozzarella cheese, milk, bacon (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Prepare the potatoes as you would normally prepare your “baked potatoes”. (Note: I cheat and bake potatoes in my microwave, which has a “potato” button!)
  2. Once potatoes have been baked, cut the potatoes in half, scoop out the inside of the potatoes, and add it to a bowl. Set aside the remaining potato “skins”.
  3. Add butter, milk, salt to the potato mixture (Approximately 1/4 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp milk and pinch of salt per potato). Mash together with a fork (as if you were making mashed potatoes). Add shredded mozzarella cheese. Mix together.
  4. Scoop potato mixture into the skins until full and top with shredded mozzarella cheese. (Optional Tip: sprinkle bacon on top of potato mixture before the cheese.)
  5. Add stuffed potatoes to a baking sheet or baking dish. Bake for approximately 8 minutes or until cheese begins to brown.

Coming Soon on my blog…Roasted Potatoes Recipe

Leave a comment